Fairflight.co.uk review

Home/Reviews/Fairflight.co.uk review
Fairflight.co.uk review2021-07-28T08:22:38+01:00

Fairflight is a trademark of the Paddock Media group which is based in the United Kingdom. They are dedicated to giving air travellers any compensation owed for delayed, cancelled or otherwise problematic flights. They have been mentioned or featured in U.S.A. Today, the Washington Post, BBC News, The Telegraph and CNN.

fairflight-400x200

 

Visit Fairflight.co.uk

Fairflight.co.uk overview

OVERALL RANK: #21 out of 24
USABILITY: Easy to use
AVERAGE COMPENSATION: 300€
SERVICE COST: 25% + 25
AVERAGE COMPENSATION TIME: 8-14 weeks
LANGUAGES: 1
REVIEWS: No 3rd party reviews found
OFFICIAL WEBSITE: Fairflight.co.uk

 

Our Fairflight.co.uk review

FairFlight is the name that Paddock Media Group uses to help air travellers if they need compensation for delayed or cancelled flights. According to their website, they can get you up to £450 in compensation, you will not be charged unless the compensation is won and they have lots of happy and satisfied customers. They also have credentials from places like The Washington Post and BBC News.

Their website is basic, but provides all the information you need, all on a single page. This allows for easy navigation without having to thumb through different tabs looking for one piece of information you need. They do have a small social media presence on Facebook and Twitter.

After you submit your claim, FairFlight will do their best to work on your claim allowing you to forgo the stress of having to negotiate with the airline directly. If you claim is successful you will only be charged a fee of 25%.

While there are very few reviews, they do provide testimonials of happy clients that successfully claimed compensation from two major airlines.

Sometimes basic is all you need and that’s what FairFlight is. Right down to their website, it’s all cut and dry and there are almost no questions that need to be resolved. If you are looking for a company that is easy and uncomplicated, than FairFlight may be the way to go for you.

Other things to know about Fairflight.co.uk:

  • A trademark of the Paddock Media Group.
  • Fee of 25% if claim is successful.
  • FairFlight provides up to £450 in compensation.

Fairflight Pros

  • Their simple website allows for easy navigation.

  • If you do not win compensation you do not have to pay.

  • FairFlight claims to have over one million satisfied customers.

  • Shows claims that customers have submitted and to which airlines.

Fairflight Cons

  • Very little information aside from the basics.

  • Does not state how long it takes to resolve a claim.

 

Fairflight.co.uk flight compensation

Short flights

250
  • Flights up to 1500 km

Mid ranged flights

400
  • Flights from 1500 km to 3500 km

Long flights

600
  • Flights more than 3500 km

Fairflight.co.uk fee

Short flights

875Success fee

Mid ranged flights

125Success fee

Long flights

175Success fee

Is Fairflight.co.uk trustworthy?

Definitely yes.

 

Claim your compensation at Fairflight.co.uk here

 

Fairflight.co.uk alternatives

Skycop review
Skycop Review
Airhelp review
Airhelp Review
ClaimCompass review
ClaimCompass Review

When are you entitled to EU flight compensation?

 

EC Regulation Number 261/2004 establishes common rules for passenger compensation aid for flight delays in the European Union countries. These rules state that passengers are to be given compensation if their flight was departing or arriving in EU and was delayed due to airline’s fault. Compensation is given to a passenger who has experienced a delay of more than 3 hours. A flight delay in general can be any delay, though in order to qualify for compensation, the delay must put you at your final destination more than 3 hours late. A canceled flight is considered eligible for compensation if it was cancelled less than 14 days before scheduled departure date. Bellow you will find the most common airline’s faults:

Airplane Technical Issues

If the airplane has mechanical or technical issues, such as faulty landing gear or questionable control systems, then the airplane is considered to have technical errors, and is not safe to proceed with the flight.

Airplane Rotation

Rotation situations involve the plane arriving late from its previous destination. This offsets the time it departs on its next scheduled flight route.

Operational Issues

Operational issues can include anything having to do with the planning of the flight. This normally involves route planning, but it could include other technicalities that affect the operation of the plane.

Other

The law provides some level of flexibility here, since there are other scenarios where the flight may not be able to proceed. These reasons are not always foreseeable, therefore hard to document specifics.

When are you not entitled to EU flight compensation?

 

There are certain circumstances where the airline is not responsible for flight disruptions. If the airline is not responsible, then passengers do not qualify for compensation.

Delayed for Less Than 3 Hours

If you flight was delayed, but you still made it to your final destination in less than 3 hours late, then you do not qualify for compensation.

Flight Canceled More Than 14 Days Ago

A canceled flight is not considered eligible for compensation if it was cancelled more than 14 days before scheduled departure date.

Airplane Manufacturing Flaws

Manufacturing flaws in the aircraft is considered to be no fault of the airline. Under these conditions, no compensation is required.

Bad Weather Conditions

If it is determined to be unsafe for the aircraft to depart, the airline is not at fault and compensation is not required.

Strikes and Incidents

Strikes are not considered the fault of the airline; therefore, compensation benefits do not apply.

Non-EU Flight/Operator

If your flight carrier isn’t registered in the EU, the flight does not qualify for compensation.

Fairflight.co.uk FAQ

Does the compensation apply per person?2020-02-25T08:53:16+00:00
Yes; the airline is required to pay the compensation per person. This amount is irrespective of how much you paid for your ticket, because it’s meant to compensate you for the time you lost as a result of the delay, cancellation or denied boarding. So every passenger who traveled under a paid ticket should be entitled to receive this compensation.
You have asked me to provide a copy of my identification. Why is this necessary?2020-02-25T08:53:11+00:00
In some cases we require a copy of your passport or identification card. There are two reasons for this. The airline needs to be able to verify whether the information correspond with the booking details to determine whether the person was in fact a passenger on the delayed flight. Secondly, the airline may want to check whether the correct person mandated us. They can determine this by cross-checking the signed power of attorney form with the passport.

Giving out a copy of your passport should be done with care and only when it’s necessary. It goes without saying that we will treat your documents with the utmost of care, but there are a number of things you can do to make sure you’re not at risk of identity theft. For instance, you can write the word ‘copy’ on the copied document, as well as the date and the company the copy is intended for. You can also cross out your passport number.

The airline has requested my bank account details. Should I give these to them?2020-02-25T08:53:02+00:00
In some cases, the airline will contact the passenger directly for a payment. Please always consult with the claims team before you provide your details, for instance in order to check whether the amount offered is correct. By providing your bank account details to the airline, you may also accept any deal you are being offered. Please also be careful when providing bank or credit card details to third parties; scammers could pose as an airline and obtain sensitive information from passengers. Never disclose the so-called CVC code that is printed on the back of credit cards.
I have lost my travel documents. Can I still claim flight delay compensation?2020-02-25T08:52:57+00:00

Proof of payment will do instead but we always prefer the travel documents

I am not an european citizen. Can I reclaim?2020-02-25T08:52:52+00:00

Yes, no matter your nationality or residence.
You must make sure to provided us a way to send you the money. Besides SEPA bank transfer, other methods of payment might be accepted. Payment is made in euros by law, so banks might charge you some fees to convert to your currency. If you have a friend holding an EU bank account, we can transfer your money to him upon yours and his approvals.

Can I submit claims for other people?2020-02-25T08:52:48+00:00

Yes, you can help your family or friends receive their compensation.

If they are in your booking you can include them while filing the claim in this site. They will need to sign a document later, or now using your device. Not for children, they are represented by their guardian.
For people in other bookings another claim must be filed. We can contact them instead, just send us their email addresses.

Your case has a better chance of success if we have many claims in the same flight, so it is better for everybody (oops, except the airline) if you talk to other passengers and everybody joins.

Can I claim by myself?2020-02-25T08:52:35+00:00

Yes, you can claim yourself or through your lawyer. In such case a very low tax of success (2%) is to be expected.

When am I not entitled to compensation?2020-02-25T08:52:30+00:00

You are not entitled to compensation when a flight is disrupted due to force majeure or for reasons not related to the airline’s operations. Examples include:

  • Weather conditions that are not suitable for the flight, natural disasters (e.g. the Ejafjadlojokudlio volcano that erupted in Iceland in 2010)
  • Airport operation disruptions
  • Acts of terrorism or military actions
  • Trade union strikes
  • Airplane factory defects
  • Your financial compensation may be reduced if you agreed to accept other forms of compensation proposed by the airline – e.g. gift coupons or discounts for another flight.

If you have already accepted similar forms of compensation from the airline, it is important that you inform us about it.

How far back can I claim?2020-02-25T08:52:41+00:00

The Regulation No. 261/2004 does not set a time limit on how far back claims can go. There is no unified time limit for all EU countries. Hence time limit for flight claims is specified in national laws of the country where you bring the claim (European Court of Justice, Case C-139/11 dated November 22, 2012).

Generally, in majority of countries passenger can claim compensation for flights dated 3 to 5 years old, however other countries may have up to 10 years and even longer, so we encourage passengers to submit claims for all pre-existing disrupted flights and we will check it for you and notify you accordingly (you might have hundreds of EUR sitting in your email, so do not lose it).

Every EU country has its country-specific time limit. For example, in the UK – time to submit a claim to court is 6 years (confirmed in case Dawson v. Thomson Airways in 2014), so any claims for a flight less than 6 years old shall be eligible for flight compensation.

Important that time limit for bringing a claim is calculated from the date of the disrupted flight (date of arrival or scheduled departure in case of cancellation) and NOT until the date of claim submission to the airline, but until claim officially submitted to state court. Hence, it is important that passengers CLAIM FAST on their flights not to lose its rights. Warning, some airlines are actively trying to enter into lengthy settlement discussions directly with passengers in order to delay court filing, so once time has lapsed airline will immediately change its approach and reject passenger’s claim completely without any remedy.

Which flights are eligible for compensation under the Regulation No. 261/2004?2020-02-25T08:52:22+00:00

Any passenger (regardless of nationality and residence) has a right to the EU Flight compensation (from €250 to €600) for eligible flights only in the following cases:

1) pertinent to all airlines;

EU to EU flights (domestic EU flight operated by any airline);
EU to Non-EU flight (departing from any EU airport and arriving at any airport outside EU operated by any airline);
2) pertinent to EU airlines only:

from Non-EU country to EU country (flight departing from a non-EU member state and arriving in any EU country on a flight operated by an EU licensed Airline).
Additional conditions:

1) a passenger has to have a confirmed reservation on a flight operated by the airline, and

2) a passenger has to arrive in time for the check-in as indicated on the ticket or communication from the airline, or, if no time is so indicated, no less than 45 minutes prior to the scheduled departure time of the flight;

3) flight shall meet time limits for bringing court claims, which are EU country-specific (EU countries, as usual, allow recovery for EU flights up to 3 years old, but some countries allow even older flights claims, e.g., UK allows to claims for flights up to 6 years old).

Major exclusions from the Regulation No. 261/2004:

1) flights from a Non-EU country to an EU country operated by a non-EU airline (e.g., American Airlines flight from New York to Paris is excluded from the Regulation No. 261/2004 may be covered by US regulations, but a return flight from EU to the US will be covered). But if you have a connection in Paris and continue the flight to Dubai on any airline, then the flight Paris to Dubai will be covered as the flight from EU;

2) flight disruptions caused by Extraordinary Circumstances (such as labor strike, security reasons, bad weather but only which affected flights, not any bad weather conditions qualify as an extraordinary factor);

3) passengers travelling on a free or discounted ticket not available to the general public are not eligible for flight compensation (airline employee’s discounted tickets). However, seasonal tickets, publicly discounted, promotion/sale tickets fares, as well as ticket obtained from a frequent flyer program are eligible for the flight compensation;

4) flights from Gibraltar Airport;

5) helicopter flights.

I travel with family, can I claim for family members as well?2020-02-25T08:52:04+00:00

Yes, but you have to provide us with proof of authority/consent of your fellow passengers to do that. Please note that flight compensation will be paid to each passenger account even if you paid for tickets for your family unless proof of authority or assignment of payment is specifically furnished to our reasonable satisfaction.

What is a disrupted flight?2020-02-25T08:51:34+00:00

A flight is considered disrupted and you can claim for compensation if:

  • The flight was delayed and was late to arrive at the destination by more than 3 hours.
  • The flight was cancelled less than 14 days before departure.
  • The air carrier refused to fly you because there were no available seats on the airplane.
How much compensation can I expect for a delayed or cancelled flight?2020-02-25T08:51:40+00:00

Depending on the distance you were planning to travel, you can expect compensation ranging from €250 to €600.