Fairplane.co.uk review

Home/Reviews/Fairplane.co.uk review
Fairplane.co.uk review2020-02-06T03:38:40+00:00

Fairplane helps make compensation claims to those who have had a delayed, cancelled or overbooked flight. Though the company Fairplane was created in Austria in 2012, a UK branch was added in 2015. They can find and help passengers with strategies to obtain their claim and are registered with the Law Society and the Solicitors Regulatory Authority or SRA.

fairplane-400x200

 

Visit Fairplane.co.uk

They are able to help people thanks to their database of flight data as well as aircraft movements and data from historical weather patterns. They also have specialized lawyers versed in flight law and European law.

Fairplane.co.uk overview

OVERALL RANK:#8 out of 24
USABILITY:Very easy to use
AVERAGE COMPENSATION:303€
SERVICE COST:25% + 25€ fee
AVERAGE COMPENSATION TIME:10-12 weeks
LANGUAGES:1
REVIEWS:88% are five star “Excellent” reviews
OFFICIAL WEBSITE:Fairplane.co.uk

 

Our Fairplane.co.uk review

With it’s dedicated lawyers, researchers and experts, Fairplane gives you the best chance of success when it comes to your airline compensation claim. They are able to do this thanks to their ability to compile data of flight plans, weather data and other necessary things to help with your claim. They claim a near perfect claim success guarantee which aligns with the overwhelming positive response.

Their website is user friendly and spells everything out in easy to understand terms. It tells you how much you are paying, how long it takes and any caveats you need to take not of. While this branch is only located in the United Kingdom, the Fairplane company covers many European airlines and countries.

Fairplane also stays with the client every single step of the way, making sure they are informed of their claim status, as well as making the process easier in every way. They contact the airline directly and work with them and the law to get the best result possible. They have only been in the game a few years, but they have proved that they have the know-how, the resources and the support of others to help clients get the compensation for the delayed flight and cancellation they are owed. It may take a little while to get your claim settled, but they will whatever necessary to get it to you, and you will only be charged if you claim is successful.

Other things to know about Fairplane.co.uk

  • UK Fairplane branch was established in 2015
  • Based in the United Kingdom.
  • Fee is calculated based on success and how much claim money the client obtained. Fee = £25 Admin Fee + 25% + the Eurpoean VAT or Value Added Tax.
  • The average compensation time for a successful claim is an average 61 days. However it could take up to 10 to 12 weeks for the claim to finish.
  • Provides a guarantee that almost every case will be successful.
  • Does not require a client to go to court or attend any legal proceedings and pays for any possible legal fees.

Fairplane Pros

  • If you don’t win any compensation, you don’t have to pay for the service.

  • Has a dedicated team of lawyers and experts to help your claim.

  • Takes legal action against airline if need be, but does not require the client to attend court proceedings.

  • Claim is insured to prevent financial risk.

  • Under regulation of the SRA or Solicitors Regulatory Authority.

Fairplane Cons

  • Claim could take up to 10 to 12 weeks.

  • Branch is only located in the United Kingdom.

Fairplane.co.uk flight compensation

Short flights

250
  • Flights up to 1500 km

Mid ranged flights

400
  • Flights from 1500 km to 3500 km

Long flights

600
  • Flights more than 3500 km

Fairplane.co.uk fee

Short flights

8750Success fee

Mid ranged flights

125Success fee

Long flights

175Success fee

Is Fairplane.co.uk trustworthy?

Yes, you can definitely trust them.

 

Claim your compensation at Fairplane.co.uk here

 

Fairplane.co.uk alternatives

Skycop review
Skycop Review
Airhelp review
Airhelp Review
ClaimCompass review
ClaimCompass Review

When are you entitled to EU flight compensation?

 

EC Regulation Number 261/2004 establishes common rules for passenger compensation aid for flight delays in the European Union countries. These rules state that passengers are to be given compensation if their flight was departing or arriving in EU and was delayed due to airline’s fault. Compensation is given to a passenger who has experienced a delay of more than 3 hours. A flight delay in general can be any delay, though in order to qualify for compensation, the delay must put you at your final destination more than 3 hours late. A canceled flight is considered eligible for compensation if it was cancelled less than 14 days before scheduled departure date. Bellow you will find the most common airline’s faults:

Airplane Technical Issues

If the airplane has mechanical or technical issues, such as faulty landing gear or questionable control systems, then the airplane is considered to have technical errors, and is not safe to proceed with the flight.

Airplane Rotation

Rotation situations involve the plane arriving late from its previous destination. This offsets the time it departs on its next scheduled flight route.

Operational Issues

Operational issues can include anything having to do with the planning of the flight. This normally involves route planning, but it could include other technicalities that affect the operation of the plane.

Other

The law provides some level of flexibility here, since there are other scenarios where the flight may not be able to proceed. These reasons are not always foreseeable, therefore hard to document specifics.

When are you not entitled to EU flight compensation?

 

There are certain circumstances where the airline is not responsible for flight disruptions. If the airline is not responsible, then passengers do not qualify for compensation.

Delayed for Less Than 3 Hours

If you flight was delayed, but you still made it to your final destination in less than 3 hours late, then you do not qualify for compensation.

Flight Canceled More Than 14 Days Ago

A canceled flight is not considered eligible for compensation if it was cancelled more than 14 days before scheduled departure date.

Airplane Manufacturing Flaws

Manufacturing flaws in the aircraft is considered to be no fault of the airline. Under these conditions, no compensation is required.

Bad Weather Conditions

If it is determined to be unsafe for the aircraft to depart, the airline is not at fault and compensation is not required.

Strikes and Incidents

Strikes are not considered the fault of the airline; therefore, compensation benefits do not apply.

Non-EU Flight/Operator

If your flight carrier isn’t registered in the EU, the flight does not qualify for compensation.

Fairplane.co.uk FAQ

I booked a package holiday which included a flight that was delayed. Can I claim flight delay compensation?2020-01-09T01:09:48+00:00

The fact that your booking included different elements does not affect your right to claim compensation. The key issue is whether or not the delayed flight would qualify for compensation under the EU rules:

  • The flight must have been delayed from arriving at your final destination by 3 hours or more
  • The delay must have been within the control of the airline (i.e. not weather issues or similar)
  • The flight must have taken off from within the EU or landed in the EU and be an EU owned airline.


There is sometimes the potential for confusion when the the question is asked in regards to whether a claim can be made on behalf of a child. The answer is it can, provided that something was paid for their airline ticket. It is not uncommon for offers to be made as part of package holiday deals where ‘Children go free’ or similar. If this is the case, then a claim could not be made on the child’s behalf.

I turned up for my flight but the airline had overbooked the seats. Can I claim for delayed flight compensation?2020-01-13T00:57:59+00:00

It is quite common, particularly for budget airlines to overbook flights as they know that, on average, several passengers will fail to turn up for a flight. The trouble is that sometimes all of the passengers turn up, and when this happens, some will not be able to fly. This is the airline’s fault and is caused by their attempt to maximise profits.

To qualify for delayed flight compensation you must have checked in on-time and arrived at your final destination more than 3 hours later than if you had got on the original flight. If the airline offered you a replacement flight which got you to the destination less than 3 hours after you were previously scheduled to arrive, you would not have a claim. You must arrive more than 3 hours than originally planned. ‘Arrived’ technically means when the plane doors open – not when you get to your hotel.

Finally, be aware that airlines will often ask for volunteers to miss an overbooked flight and may well offer compensation in return. However, it is likely that they will offer less than that to which you are legally entitled to. We would always recommend that you don’t settle for anything less than the amount specified under EU rules.

Can I claim flight compensation for a missed connecting flight?2020-01-09T01:08:49+00:00

The EU Regulations allow a passenger to claim delayed flight compensation if they missed an onward flight due to the delay or cancellationof a preceding flight provided:

  • The preceding flight took off in the EU and;
  • The delay or cancellation meant that the time for the connecting flight had either passed OR that the time was shorter than the official connecting minimum times published by the connecting airport and;
  • The passenger arrived more than 3 hours late at the ultimate destination
  • The tickets were booked together

These rules sound complicated so it is always worth checking with FairPlane UK if you missed your flight connection due to a delay to your first flight.

How much compensation can I claim?2020-01-09T01:08:22+00:00

The amount of flight delay compensation owed to you depends on several factors. Firstly your flight must have been delayed from arriving at your final destination by at least 3 hours. If your flight was cancelled or you were prevented from boarding your flight, you may also qualify to make a claim.

The table below sets out the amounts of confirmation available as set by EU law. The amounts are fixed, and are not related to the cost of the ticket.

 Flight Distance Length Of Delay Compensation Amount
 Up to 1,500km 3 hours or more€250 (£210) 
 1,500km-3,500km3 hours or more  €400 (£340)
 Over 3,500km Between 2 EU Member States & 3 hours or more €400 (£340)
 Over 3,500km 3-4 hours €300 (£255)
 Over 3,500km More than 4 hours €600 (£510)

*Compensation calculated Feb ’17 rate of £1: €1.18 and rounded to the nearest £5.

You can quickly find out if you have a claim and how much you might be owed by providing us with a few details about your flight either by contacting us directly or by using the form on the MAKE A CLAIM page of this website.

How do I know if I can make a claim for flight compensation?2020-01-09T01:07:26+00:00

Whether you can claim flight compensation, and the amount you can claim, depends on a number of factors including:

Are you departing from an EU country?
Are you arriving in an EU country?
How long was your delay?
How far were you flying?
What caused your delay?
What airline did you fly with?
How long ago was your flight?

The easiest way to check if you have a valid flight delay claim is to use our free flight claim checker. All you need to do is enter your flight date and number and we will give you an instant decision on whether or not we think you can claim.

How quickly after my flight claim is settled will I receive my compensation?2020-01-09T01:07:04+00:00

When we receive your flight compensation from the airline, we immediately send you and email and a text message. You will then be asked to provide your bank details, which we hold securely. We deduct our fees from the compensation obtained from the airline and then send the balance straight to your bank account. If you bank with HSBC, Barclays or Lloyds, the payment should arrive in your bank account within a couple of days. Other banks can take longer.
.
If you would rather not have the compensation paid directly into your bank account, we will send a cheque to your home address. A small administration fee will be required for this service.

What is a flight compensation claim?2020-01-09T01:06:45+00:00

European Regulation EU261/2004 states that if you have experienced a flight delay of more than three hours, been denied boarding or had your flight cancelled, then you may be eligible to make a claim for flight compensation against the airline that you were travelling with.

Passengers are entitled to claim up to €600 (approx £450) per person.

The law applies to the following:

  1. Flights departing an EU member state
  2. Flights landing in an EU member state that are owned by an EU based airline.


The quickest and easiest way to find out if you can make a claim for flight delay compensation is to put some basic details about your flight into the compensation calculator on our
 Flight delay compensation page.

I tried to make my own claim against the airline, but they told me I was not FairPlane Fred FAQentitled to flight compensation. Can FairPlane help?2020-01-09T01:06:18+00:00

In a word, yes. We are regularly contacted by passengers who have tried making a claim for flight compensation themselves by writing directly to the airline. The airlines will often either ignore the passenger’s request or simply say they are not entitled to receive the compensation for the delayed or cancelled flight.

We will look at the circumstances of the delayed or cancelled flight and let you know straight away whether or not we think you have a right to claim flight compensation. If we think you have a case, then we will write to the airline on your behalf.

We have been successful time and time again when helping clients who have tried and failed to obtain flight compensation from the airline themselves. The airlines often take this approach because they know that passengers will not issue legal proceedings against them if they do not pay. FairPlane won’t let this happen!

What happens if I lose my claim for flight delay compensation?2020-01-09T01:05:56+00:00

FairPlane cover all risks using insurance, so that if you were to lose your claim for delayed flight compensation, there would never be anything to pay.

You may have heard the phrase ‘No Win, No Fee’. This means that we only charge you a fee for our services if we are successful in claiming flight compensation for you. If we are not successful, then you wouldn’t have to pay us anything and the insurance we take out would also cover all potential court or barrister fees we might have incurred in pursuing your case. The insurance also covers the airline’s legal costs, which from time to time we are ordered to pay by the court.

If you were to make a flight delay compensation claim yourself through the small claims court then of course, you would have to take the risk of shouldering these legal costs yourself.

In addition, you would have to pay the court issue fee of up to £70 and any hearing fee (another £100). We pay these costs on your behalf if you choose FairPlane UK to assist you in making your flight delay compensation claim.

How long with it take to make a delayed flight compensation claim?2020-01-09T01:05:32+00:00

Unfortunately, we cannot accurately say how long your delayed flight claim will take to process. We write a legal demand letter setting out your delayed flight claim to the airline as soon as we receive your instructions to act on your behalf, and within that letter, we are legally required to offer them 21 days to respond. Many airlines reply much quicker than the maximum 21 days allowed and some will even pay the flight compensation during this period.

In some cases the airline will contest the claim, but others will agree to pay the full delay compensation. If a claim is defended by the airline, we may then have to issue legal proceedings to enforce your right to delayed flight compensation. If legal proceedings are issued, the timescale we have to comply with is dictated by the Court and can take up to 6 months. On balance, the best indication we can give you as to how long your claim for flight delay compensation might take would be based on the average time of a claim from start to finish, and that is currently 61 days. It might well be much quicker though. Our fastest took just 7 days!

You can get the ball rolling straight away by using our Flight Delay Compensation Checker to see if you may have a valid claim.

Will making a claim for flight delay compensation require me to do a lot of FairPlane Fred FAQwork?2020-01-09T01:05:06+00:00

If you instruct us to make a delayed flight claim on your behalf, we will carry out all of the work required to successfully obtain any compensation you are owed.

Initially we will write a long legal letter to the operating airline and then issue legal proceedings if they refuse to agree to pay your flight compensation.
If legal proceedings are issued, we will be responsible for all fees and costs in the event that the case is lost. We will carry out all of the work required up to and including any hearings in court. Don’t worry though – you will never need to attend court and the only thing we may ask is you to do is to send us your plane ticket or other proof of flight, which is often required to issue legal proceedings.

Of course, you could make the claim yourself, but then you would need to write the letter of claim and prepare any legal small claims proceedings. These can be complicated as can the small claims process itself. If you went ahead on your own and were to lose, you might be asked to pay the airline’s legal costs and you will also have lost the court fees, which you would have paid for along the way.

Why should I use FairPlane’s services, when I could make a claim myself?2020-01-09T01:04:13+00:00

Whilst it may be physically possible for you to make a claim for flight compensation yourself, the service FairPlane UK provides brings with it many benefits. In the first instance by asking us to take on your claim, you instantly step away from the effort and stress that potentially accompany making a claim. Secondly, we bring with us expertise and experience. Our lawyers have already succeeded with thousands of flight delay claims against the airlines. We have access to multiple databases on flight movements, weather, airports and on European and national passenger law. The combination of the flight data made available and legal expertise enables us to maximize your chances of success and shortens the processing time significantly. 80% of all flight delay compensation cases received are concluded with the maximum amount of compensation paid. Finally, you will no doubt of read in the national press that the airlines are often far from accommodating when faced with claims for compensation, even when they are totally legitimate. We hear stories all the time about how requests for compensation are denied incorrectly or simply ignore when made by individuals. The airlines know they can’t ignore us, and we will ensure that your flight delay compensation claim is taken seriously and processed quickly by the airline. We will strongly enforce your right to any flight delay compensation you are legally owed.

How much does FairPlane UK charge for its services?2020-01-09T01:02:42+00:00

FairPlane UK will only charge a fee depending on the amount of flight delay compensation we manage to obtain for you. This performance-based fee is a £25 Admin Fee plus 25% + VAT of the compensation recovered. …but only if you win.

How does FairPlane work?2020-01-09T01:02:17+00:00

At FairPlane UK we have access to a variety of flight related data that we use to aid us in our work. These include databases of historic weather conditions and aircraft movements. In addition, our lawyers are fully versed in the most recent European law in regards to flight claims. It is because of this knowledge and experience that we are almost able to guarantee that if we take on your claim, we will be able to obtain for you, any compensation you are owed. Our charges are based on success…so there is nothing to pay unless we obtain any compensation for you from the airline. There are no up-front charges or hidden costs.

You can use our flight delay compensation checker to see if you have a valid claim. For more details about the claim process, please see the How it works page on this website.

Who are FairPlane UK?2020-01-09T01:01:41+00:00

FairPlane is a company that operates across Europe, helping individuals to make successful compensation claims for delayed, cancelledand overbooked flights. The company was first established in Austria 2012, with the dedicated UK company (FairPlane UK) launched in 2015. FairPlane UK operate unique systems and strategies in order to provide airline passengers with the best possible, risk free, opportunity of making a successful claim. FairPlane UK is a law firm registered with and regulated by the Law Society and the SRA (Solicitors Regulatory Authority).